Showing posts with label Tools. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Tools. Show all posts

Monday, June 29, 2009

More Detail on basic Tools

  • Rotate and Crop at the Same Time:
    When you are using the Crop tool, you can rotate while you crop by just moving your cursor outside the bounding box that appears around your image when you choose the crop tool. You will see that your cursor temporarily changes into a double-headed arrow, which enables you to freely rotate your object. When it's rotated just the way you like it, you have two choices: Double-click inside the bounding box, or just press Return to make the rotation permanent.
  • How to Cancel a Crop:
    If you are using the Crop tool and decide you don't want to crop the image after all, just click once on the Crop tool icon in the tool palette. A dialog box will appear giving you the option to "Crop" or "Don't Crop.
  • Free Transform Tips:
    To bring up Free Transform, press Command-T (PC: Control-T). Here is how the Free Transform tool works:

    • To Scale (resize) an object visually, just grab one of the corner and drag in or out. Hold down the Shift key as you drag to keep your image proportional.
    • To Rotate an object, just move your cursor outside the bounding box and the cursor changes to a two-headed arrow which enables you to free rotate.
    • To Distort an object, hold the Command key (Control key on a PC) and grab any corner and drag.
    • To Skew an object, hold both the Option-Command keys (Alt-Control on a PC) and drag a corner left or right to Skew.
    • For change the Perspective of an object, hold Shift-Option-Command (Shift-Alt-Control for a PC) and drag a corner up or down, left or right.
    If all these commands seem too confusing (and frankly it is a bit hard to keep them all straight) you can always just hold the Control key and click anywhere (or on PC, just rightclick) and a pop-up list of transformations will appear, and you can choose the one your looking for. When you do, the bounding box doesn't change, but the cursor changes to the right one for the transformation you selected. You can now just click and drag away!
  • Editing Gradients:
    To bring up the Gradient Editor, get the Gradient Tool, then click on the current Gradient up in the Options Bar. To create your own custom gradient, click below the color bar to add another color to the gradient. To assign either the foreground or background color to this new color, click the "F" marker for foreground, or the "B" marker for background. To choose a different color altogether, just click on the rectangular swatch next to the F and B markers and the Color picker will appear, enabling you to choose any color you'd like. To delete a color, click and drag down to the bottom of the palette; it will disappear. To drag out an existing copy of a color already in the gradient, just Option-drag it (Alt-drag on a PC.)
  • Get the Zoom Temporarily:
    To temporarily switch any tool you are working with to the Magnifying Glass tool, just hold the Command-Spacebar (Control-Spacebar on a PC).
  • Tip for working while zoomed in close:
    To temporarily switch any tool you are working with to the Grabber Hand, just hold the spacebar. Perfect for navigating while zoomed in close, because the Scroll Bars move too far, and are too unpredictable when zoomed in.
  • Get the Eyedropper Any Time You are Painting:
    If you have any paint tool (Brush, Airbrush, Pencil, Eraser, etc.) you can temporarily switch to the Eyedropper tool (used for sampling any existing color from a image) you can just hold the Option key (Alt-key on a PC).
  • Toggle Through The Tool Palette:
    To instantly switch to the Rectangular Marquee tool just press "M". To get the Elliptical (circular) Marquee tool, just press Shift-M.
    To get the Crop tool (you have missed this tool have not you?) just press "C".

    To toggle through the Pen tools press Shift-P to toggle between the Pen tool, the Magnetic Pen tool, and the Freeform Pen Tool. To get the Add Anchor Point Pen press the "+" (plus) key. To get the Delete Anchor Point Pen press the "-" (minus) key. Press the letter "A" to get the Direct Selection tool, and unfortunately there is no keyboard shortcut to get the Convert Point tool.

    The rest are pretty obvious (E for Eraser, B for Brush, T for Type, etc.) with the exception of:

    • "I" for eyedropper
    • "K" for Paint Bucket (You don't really use this tool, do you?)
    • "N" for the Line tool
    • "O" for the Burn tool
    • "R" for Blur tool (Should have been R for Rubber Stamp)
    • "U" for Smudge tool
    • "Y" for Pencil tool


Special Thanks To TTutorials

Friday, June 26, 2009

Crop Tool

The Crop Tool has several uses:

• to remove unwanted parts of an image;
• to rotate an image;
• and to expand the canvas area.



A simple crop

With a new image, one of the first things we are all likely to do is remove an unwanted rebate, and we did that with the alarm clock image.

The image used in this Photo shop tutorial is number 09.jpg in the Samples-Starting folder. It can be downloaded by clicking here or you can use one of your own images.

To summarize the procedure:

photoshop icons
  • Select the Crop Tool.


  • how to use photoshop tools
  • Position the cursor in a top corner and drag it diagonally across the image.
  • Drag one of the small square handles on one of the sides into the picture to crop out the unwanted edge.
  • All four sides can be treated individually.
  • To adjust a vertical and horizontal side at the same time, move a corner handle into the picture.
  • Moving a corner handle into the picture while holding Shift will keep the cropping in proportion.
  • To adjust two opposite sides in equally, hold Alt and move one of the side handles into the picture.
  • Press Enter / Return to apply the crop.




Rotate

how to use adobe photoshop tools To enable us to rotate the image with the Crop Tool we first need to expand the area around the image.

  • Drag the bottom right corner of the image frame down and to the right to increase the grey area around the image.



  • adobe photoshop training
  • Select the Crop Tool from the toolbox.
    Pressing C is a shortcut to this.
  • Drag the cursor across the image as before.
  • Place the cursor beside the image and it changes into a double curved arrow symbol.
    Dragging the cursor will rotate the image.
    The image will rotate in the preview to show you how it will look.
    A very high resolution image will take some moments if the computer is not too powerful.




Expanding the canvas size

The whole image can be made bigger with the Crop Tool.

photoshop free tutorials

  • Have the toolbox colours for foreground and background set to default, with black over white. Use the letters D and X to achieve this.
  • Drag the bottom right corner of the image border down and to the right to put more grey area around the image.
  • Drag the Crop Tool across the whole image.
    The image is surrounded by what is known as the bounding box.
  • Place the cursor on the bottom right corner angle and drag it down and to
    the right.
    The four sides can be moved out individually if required.
  • To increase the canvas area symmetrically around the image hold Shift + Alt as you drag out a corner handle.
  • Press Enter / Return.
    The new extra area will take on the colour of the background colour square in the toolbox, which in this case will be white.
  • This is the situation when the image is flattened and locked.
    For the new area to be clear, the image must be unlocked and changed to a normal layer.
    The flattend image will be called Background in the Layers palette.
    To unlock it, hold Alt and double-click on the Background name in the Layers palette. photoshop icons
  • Now drag the bottom right corner down and out as before.
  • Drag the Crop Tool across the whole image and while holding Shift + Alt move the bottom right corner handle of the crop bounding box down and to the right.
    Press Enter or Return.

    The new area around the image is clear.
    With a new layer placed under the image,
    it can be filled with another image or colour.


Special Thanks To Photoshop Tutorial Plus..


Brush Tool
Color Picker.
Layers
Clone Stamp Tool
Marquee Tools
Lasso Tool
Lasso Tool using Quick Mask
Crop Tool

Magic Wand Tool

For the Photoshop for beginners tutorial on the Magic Wand Tool, open images 06.jpg and 07.jpg, or your own images if preferred.
Press F7 to open the Layers palette (F7 closes it as well).
The picture frame is filled with white, which we need to remove.

  • With the Move Tool, click on image number 6 to select it and you will see in the Layers palette that it is titled Background in italics because it is locked. In this state there is a limit to what we can do, so we need to unlock it by changing it to a normal layer.

    Double-click on the word Background. In the box that comes on the screen, it is now called Layer 0, by default. This will do so click OK.
    To remove the white area inside the frame, we'll use the Magic Wand Tool.

  • Select the Magic Wand Tool (W) from the toolbox.
    In the options bar, there is a field for Tolerance. When a pixel is selected with the Wand, the tolerance level determines how close in colour surrounding pixels must be in order to be included in the selection.
    What actually is a pixel anyway? is the desperate plea. Never mind, that'll come soon....
  • The area concerned is pure white so a tolerance of 5 will be sufficient. Press Enter.
  • With the cursor as the Magic Wand Tool, click on the white area inside the frame.
    The dotted selection line will surround the white area.
  • To soften the cut slightly, go to Select > Feather and type in 1.
    Click OK.
  • Press the Delete key to clear the unwanted white.
    Go to Select > Deselect to remove the dotted selection lines.
    Notice the grid pattern inside the frame, which always signifies a transparent area on a layer.
    We are left with just the picture frame.
  • Choose the Move Tool (V) in the toolbox.
  • Select the cat image with the Move tool and drag it on to the picture frame image, remembering to hold down Shift to put the cat image in the centre.
  • The frame needs to be on top, so in the Layers palette drag the cat layer to below the frame layer.
  • Go to Edit > Transform > Scale.
    To see all the Transform bounding box, it is necessary to expand the overall viewing area by dragging the bottom right corner down and out.
    If you run out of screen space, press Ctrl + minus / Cmd + minus to reduce the display size.
  • Put the cursor on a corner handle of the bounding box and while pressing Shift + Alt move the handle towards the centre to reduce the size of the cat photograph. The bounding box itself tells us the position and size of the photograph in relation to the picture frame.
    Stop when the cat photograph is slightly bigger than the frame at the top and bottom. Press Enter.
  • There is scope to reposition the photograph to the left or right with the use of the arrow keys on the keyboard.

    free photoshop download
  • One more useful function.
    Take a close look at the inside edge of the frame. Increase the size with Ctrl + plus / Cmd + plus . Then by holding down the space bar, move the screen around with the mouse.

    There is a thin white line showing on the inside edge of the picture frame. When cutting away an area, some pixels get left behind right on the edge.
    Choose Layer > Matting > Defringe.
    A value of 1 or 2 is usually sufficient. OK. This replaces the colour of the fringe pixels with the colour of the nearby pixels.

  • Choose View > Fit on Screen. At the moment the final image is still separated into layers.
    If it is likely that you will want to work on it again then it should be saved in layers, but if not then the image can be flattened to save memory and file space. In the top right corner of the Layers palette is a small arrow; pressing on this arrow reveals a pop-up menu.
    Select Flatten Image. The two layers are compressed into one.
  • The file can be saved and while it is still open, the image can be unflattened with Edit > Undo; but once the file is closed, its fate is sealed.
Although these Photoshop for beginners tutorials come with sample images, the situations dealt with are common to many images, and they can be adapted to your own pictures fairly easily.

Special Thanks To Photoshop Tutorial Plus..


Brush Tool
Color Picker.
Layers
Clone Stamp Tool
Marquee Tools
Lasso Tool
Lasso Tool using Quick Mask
Crop Tool

Lasso Tool using Quick Mask

The Lasso Tool can be used for a loose, general selection or for a very precise selection.
  • For this part of the Photo Shop tutorials, open image number 05.jpg and select the Lasso Tool from the toolbox.
    The cursor changes appropriately.
  • Draw a loose selection around the goldfish, as illustrated.

    Beginners often find the Lasso Tool a bit tricky at first but practice soon pays dividends.



How to use adobe Photoshop Quick Mask Mode
  • To help make the selection accurate, we'll use the Quick Mask Mode.

    Click once on the Quick Mask Mode icon in the toolbox.
    A red mask appears inside the selection. Red is the default colour but as it is a bit similar to the orange of the fish, it would be more convenient to have a colour which gives a better contrast.



free adobe photoshop tutorials
  • Double-click on the Quick Mask Mode icon. Click on its colour box to bring up the Color Picker where you can choose a strong blue colour. It should still be distinguishable from the blue water. Click OK.
    The Quick Mask Options palette now displays the chosen blue. Leave the opacity at 50%. Click OK.
    The mask on the image is now blue and
    it is easier to see the fish's outline.


photoshop cs3 download Masking
  • Select the Brush and choose a hard brush from the top row in the Brushes palette. We'll use 100% hardness here and put on a feather afterwards. The colour boxes in the toolbox will now be black and white and as we are going to erase we want white to be on top.If white is not on top, then press X.
  • Zoom in on the image to increase its magnification.
    A quick way to increase the view to 100%
    is to double-click on the Zoom Tool in the toolbox.
  • Carefully use the Brush to erase the blue mask along the edge of the fish. For large open areas, a large brush is useful, but a smaller brush is required for small tight corners.
  • A shortcut to increase the Brush size by one step is to press the square bracket key, ].
    Pressing the other square bracket key [ reduces the brush size by one step.
  • If the erasing brush goes over the edge of the fish, press X, which reverses the foreground and background colours. Then paint back in that part of the mask.
    When the whole edge is accurately outlined, just the fish will be covered by the mask.
  • Select Standard Mode in the toolbox or press Q and the 'marching ants' will surround the fish.
  • Choose Select > Feather and a feather of 1.
    Press F7 to show the Layers palette. We'll put the fish on a new layer by going to Layer > New > Layer via Copy.
  • Go to Select > Deselect. The fish is now its own transparent layer above the background.

Special Thanks To Photoshop Tutorial Plus..


Brush Tool
Color Picker.
Layers
Clone Stamp Tool
Marquee Tools
Lasso Tool
Lasso Tool using Quick Mask
Crop Tool

Lasso Tool

The Lasso Tool is one of the most useful of tools when it comes to selecting part of an image and will always be used, even by the experts.

  • Open image number 03.jpg for the next of the free Photoshop tutorials.
    Bring up the Layers palette with F7.
  • Select the Lasso Tool in the toolbox. In the Feather box in the top options bar, set a value of 1. We are going to select the hand and the sleeve and prepare the cut-out for a different background.
  • To enlarge the image to a convenient size of 100%, double-click on the Zoom Tool in the toolbox.
    Put the cursor, which is now shaped like a little lasso, on the edge of the hand and carefully drag it around the hand and sleeve. It needs to be done in one go, because if the mouse is released, the starting point and the end of the Lasso join up.
  • As you are going round with the Lasso, if all the hand subject is not showing on the screen, keep the mouse pressed down and hold down the space bar. The cursor changes temporarily to the hand symbol and enables you to move the image around the screen with the cursor. When the space bar is released, the cursor changes back to the Lasso and you can continue.
    A little practice necessary here but it does work.


photoshop free tutorials
  • The moving dotted line is referred to as 'marching ants'.
  • In the Layers palette, the image is locked as the Background.
    As such there is a restriction on how it can be manipulated.
    Double-click on the Background. In the dialogue box which appears, the layer will now be called Layer O.
    Click OK. It is now a normal layer and allows more scope.
  • At present, the hand is selected. We want the area outside the hand to be selected so that it can be deleted. Go to Select > Inverse.
  • Press the Backspace/Delete key to delete the area inside the 'marching ants'.
  • Go to Select > Deselect. The hand is now ready to be placed on a new background as the next part of this Photo Shop tutorial.
  • Open image number 04.jpg, the grass background.
  • Go to Filter > Blur > Motion Blur.
    Enter an angle of 25 and a distance of 50 pixels.Click OK.
  • Choose the Move Tool (V) from the toolbox.
  • Hold the cursor on the hand/stopwatch image and drag it across on to the image of the grass background. Position it so that the sleeve is neatly against the bottom left corner of the background image.

Special Thanks To Photoshop Tutorial Plus..



Brush Tool
Color Picker.
Layers
Clone Stamp Tool
Marquee Tools
Lasso Tool
Lasso Tool using Quick Mask
Crop Tool

Marquee Tools

This Photoshop tutorial on the Marquee Tools can also use the 'Suffragette' image used for the Clone Stamp. If it is not still on the screen, reopen image number 02.jpg.

  • Press the cursor on the Rectangular Marquee Tool in the toolbox and in the pop-up menu which appears select the Elliptical Marquee Tool.
  • Drag the cursor across the image to make an oval over the seated figure. It might require several attempts to get it right. The moving dotted line representing the selected area is referred to as 'marching ants'.
    If you touch the screen outside the oval with the cursor, the 'marching ants' will be deleted.
    If you touch the screen inside the oval, then you can move the oval around the screen. Try and get it something like the example.
  • We want to delete the area outside the oval, which means we have to reverse or invert the selection.
    Go to Select > Inverse.
    Note how there are now 'marching ants' around the edge of the image as well as the oval.
  • If we delete now, we will get a hard edge to the cut, which won't look appropriate.
    We want to soften the edge or 'feather' it, as it is called.
    Go to Select > Modify > Feather.
    For versions of Photoshop prior to CS3 this will be Select > Feather.
    In the dialogue box type 10.
    Click on OK or press the Enter or the Return key.
  • In the toolbox, the default colors of black over white should be in view for the foreground and background colours.
    The shortcut for this is the letter D.
    To reverse the two colors, press X.
  • To clear the unwanted area around the figure, and fill with the background colour, press the Delete key.
  • Now we want to remove parts of the outer area to make the image balanced and symmetrical.
    Firstly, put the cursor on the bottom right corner of the frame and drag down and out. This gives us a little extra space around the image. photoshop free tutorials marquee tool tutorials for photoshop
  • Continue this Photoshop for beginners tutorial by selecting the Crop Tool in the main toolbox; the letter C will select it.
    In the top options bar is a small window called Resolution and with this we can set the resolution the image will be after cropping.
  • Our sample is 100 ppi so we'll keep it the same. If this Resolution window is empty the resolution will stay the same, otherwise type in 100 and press Enter.
  • Drag the crop symbol around the whole picture. The small squares, or handles, around the crop frame are used for adjusting its size.
    Put the cursor on the centre left handle and move it to the right.
  • Now push the bottom middle handle up until the frame is symmetrical. The darkened area represents the part of the image which will be removed.
    Press Enter.
  • The two layers need to be joined together.
    In the Layers palette, there is a small arrow in the top right corner. Click on this arrow and in the pop-up menu choose Flatten image

Special Thanks To Photoshop Tutorial Plus..



Brush Tool
Color Picker.
Layers
Clone Stamp Tool
Marquee Tools
Lasso Tool
Lasso Tool using Quick Mask
Crop Tool

Clone Stamp Tool

This Photoshop for beginners tutorial covers the Clone Stamp tool, which is a useful tool for cleaning dirty marks off an image and making corrections.
It is the most basic of the retouching tools and has been in the Photoshop system for a long time.

  • Open image number 02.jpg.
    To see dirty marks and to work on them successfully we first need to increase the size of the image on the screen.
    There are several ways of doing this.
  • Go to View in the top menu bar and drop down to Fit on Screen (View > Fit on Screen). The image increases in size as much as possible on your monitor while still showing the whole image area.
  • To make the view bigger still, go to View and drop down to Zoom In (View > Zoom In). Image size can be increased in this way by set increments.

    Zoom Out does the reverse. The percentage size of the image can be seen in the bottom left corner of the image's border. Zoom in until the image size reaches 100%. shortcut for 100% zoom is to double click the zoom button.

    free photoshop tutorial for clone stamp
  • With the scroll bars on the right and bottom of the image, it is possible to reposition the image. Move the image around to show the white wall behind the plant on the left. Note the dirty marks on the wall which need to be cleaned up.
  • Select the Clone Stamp Tool from the toolbox. It's in the left coloumn - hover the cursor over the icons for their names to pop up.
    Select a brush from the top row in the Brushes palette. When the cursor is over a small dirty mark, it is best if the circle covers it completely.
  • Move the cursor to a position on the background as close as possible to the dirty mark and of similar tone and density.
    Hold down the Alt / Option key and click the mouse on that point. This action copies the pixels under the cursor.
    Move the cursor over the dirty mark and click again. The dirty mark is now replaced by the clean area you have just copied.
    Move to another mark and repeat.
  • If you want to undo an action, go to Edit and drop down to Undo....
    If you want to redo it, go to Edit and drop down to Redo.....
  • How do the retouched marks look? Can you see the join? It could be that the tone of the stamp is not right, in which case repeat the action from a slightly different area.

    It could be that you can see the circle, which means that the edge of the brush is too hard. To remedy this, click on the black brush icon in the options bar to bring up the brush dialogue box. Reduce the hardness by adjusting the slider. Just how much depends on the image texture and tones.

    Practice is necessary here but try 75% in this case. Avoid 100% Softness as the resulting repair will look too fuzzy; this setting should be reserved for out-of-focus areas and even then used with caution.

  • In the top options bar, there is a box identified as Opacity. By default this is set at 100%. At times, the Clone Stamp repair can be too obvious. Reducing the opacity for those few occasions can give a better blend. Sometimes an opacity of 30% can be used and build up the repair with several applications.

Special Thanks To Photoshop Tutorial Plus..


Brush Tool
Color Picker.
Layers
Clone Stamp Tool
Marquee Tools
Lasso Tool
Lasso Tool using Quick Mask
Crop Tool

Layers

The next of our Photoshop for beginners tutorials introduces Layers, which is a most important feature in Photoshop for all users. Different parts of an image can be put on separate layers and stacked on top of each other.

This is very much how traditional animation and cartoon films are made.
There would be a background, hills in the distance, trees and many characters. Each element would be on a separate sheet of acetate so that they could all be moved and be treated independently of each other.

  • Go to Window in the top menu bar and drop down to
    Layers (Window > Layers).
  • To download the practice images for these Photo shop tutorials, Click Here.

    photoshop layers palette
  • Open image number 01.jpg in the samples package. The new Layers palette now shows the sketch pad image as a small thumbnail image and is called Background.
  • Go to Layer in the top menu bar; drop down to New and in the next menu that appears, go to Layer (Layer > New > Layer).

    In the dialogue box that appears, leave the name as Layer 1 and click OK. You now have a clear layer which you can work on without interfering with the original.

    The new layer is also highlighted which means it is active and any action you do will come out on that layer alone.
    The little eye in the left column means that layer is visible. Clicking on that eye hides the layer.

  • Select the Brush Tool in the toolbox, choose a brush size via the options bar, and rattle off a quick Picasso over the sketch pad image.
  • If you want to remove everything on Layer 1, the whole layer can be deleted.
    Drag the layer on to the Trash icon at the bottom of the palette and it will be deleted. A new layer can be created for a fresh start.
  • Individual parts of your new creation can be removed with the Eraser tool.
  • There is virtually no limit to how many layers and image can have. Placing different parts of an image on separate layers gives great control over the appearance of the image.

Special Thanks To Photoshop Tutorial Plus..


Brush Tool
Color Picker.
Layers
Clone Stamp Tool
Marquee Tools
Lasso Tool
Lasso Tool using Quick Mask
Crop Tool

Color Picker.

In the next of the Photoshop for beginners tutorials, we'll look at the Color Picker Tool.

There are zillions of colors to choose from. Although the human eye can just about distinguish millions of colors, printing can only use a relatively small number; but that's a problem for the future.


free photoshop downloads
  • In the base of the toolbox, you will see two squares overlapping slightly.
    The top color is for the foreground and the lower colour is for the background.
    Click on the black square, which brings up the Color Picker dialogue box.


    photoshop free tutorials Color Picker


    photoshop free tutorials
  • With the cursor, click on the large color square to choose a new color.
    The chosen color appears in the top of the smaller box next to the OK button.
    The sliders around the vertical color bar will choose a new range.

  • Click OK now and this color becomes the foreground color.

  • Click on the background square in the toolbox to bring up the Color Picker again and a new background color can be chosen.

  • The foreground and background colours can be reversed by clicking on the small double arrow next to the squares.
    • Pressing X on the keyboard also reverses the colours.
  • The default colours are black over white. To clear existing colours and revert to the default, press D on the keyboard.
  • The Color Picker has many functions, such as:
  1. Colors can be selected by inserting their numbers;
  2. Colors particularly compatible with printing media can be selected;
  3. The limited range of colors that display well on the web, known as web-safe colors, can also be chosen.

Special Thanks To Photoshop Tutorial Plus..


Brush Tool
Color Picker.
Layers
Clone Stamp Tool
Marquee Tools
Lasso Tool
Lasso Tool using Quick Mask
Crop Tool

Brush Tool

The first of our Photoshop-for-beginners tutorials deals with the Brush tool which is one of the most essential tools in the toolbox.

Firstly, we will need to check that the cursor gives us the most convenient symbol when we use the brushes.

  • In the top menu bar, on a PC go to Edit, while on a Mac go to Photoshop;
    then drop down to Preferences.
    In some earlier versions of Photoshop on Mac, Preferences are under Edit.

    In the small menu that appears, go to Cursors.

  • Under Painting Cursors click on Normal Brush Tip.
    So the path is:-
    Preferences > Cursors > Painting Cursors > Normal Brush Tip.
  • Under Other Cursors click Standard. The cursor will now adjust in size according to the size of brush chosen. The other settings have their uses but not right now.

    adobe photoshop for beginners

  • Go to File > New.
  • Create a new file with:
    Width 600 pixels;
    Height 500 pixels;
    Resolution 300 pixels/inch;
    with a white Background, as shown. Click OK.

    Save this file in a convenient location and call it Sample 1.



photoshop free tutorials
  • Select the Brush Tool by clicking on the Brush icon on the main toolbox.
  • Click on the very small black and white squares in the toolbox to set the large squares on the default of black and white with the black on top. The top colour is for the foreground and the lower colour is for the background.
  • A Brush will always use the uppermost colour.


  • Across the top of the screen, you will see the options bar.


adobe photoshop training options bar

photoshop free tutorials Brushes panel
  • To open the Brushes palette, go to Window > Brushes.
  • Click on number 19 on the top row and draw the word FUN.
  • Change the brush by selecting number 27 on the second row.

    Draw the word FUN on the background again.

    The first brush was set to maximum hardness, while the second brush is set at maximum softness.

  • To clear off what you have written in order to make a fresh start, click on File in the top menu bar a drop down to Revert (File > Revert). The image goes back to the previously saved version.
  • In the top options bar, click on the black dot next to the word Brush to bring up the dialogue box relevant to this brush.
  • Adjust the size of the brush by dragging the Master Diameter slider.
    Adjust the hardness of the brush by dragging the Hardness slider.
  • Draw some doodles and try different brush sizes with different amounts of hardness.
  • To go back to a white page again, click on File in the top menu bar a drop down to Revert (File > Revert).

Special Thanks To Photoshop Tutorial Plus..

Brush Tool
Color Picker.
Layers
Clone Stamp Tool
Marquee Tools
Lasso Tool
Lasso Tool using Quick Mask
Crop Tool